An unexpected thank you

Standard

Im not sure I should be thanking you at all. After all, your decision to stop returning my messages without explanation hurt me out of all proportion to the length or intensity of our relationship. We chatted for a month and only went on one date so why would I even care if you just stopped. I suspect many of the tears are actually for other things in my life I was pretending to be fine with.
But I am still grateful. The time we spent chatting was a huge amount of fun at a time when I really needed to be reminded that I can have/be that much fun. Talking to you I discovered things about myself I genuinely hadn’t known, hopefully these things will be useful in future (longer!) relationships.
And finally you made my first ever date fun rather than properly scary. Knowing I was terrified you messaged me stream of consciousness nonsense right up to the moment we met, how could I have found the time to be nervous. We had lovely food, no awkward silences and even a kiss.
Im very sorry we wont make it to a second date. I wish I understood why, I guess I never will.
My friends assure me you are a tosser and not worth my time, I almost wish I could agree. But I am confident that in a week or two I will be fine again, happy to take forward the good bits without focusing on the abrupt and unexplained ending. But for the above reasons I hope I will be able to remember you fondly.
Thank you.

6 thoughts on “An unexpected thank you

  1. Passthewineplease

    I firmly believe in the saying, people come into your life for a reason, a season or a lifetime. I’m so sorry you are hurting now. It really is his loss. What you do know is that you are fun, intelligent and attractive and I’m sure there are plenty of men out there who will realise that too. X

  2. Whether he came to stay or was merely passing through your life, he made you realise what we all know you to be, a wonderful, hilarious and fun person. It’s a pity he won’t be staying to see it, but all the more of us.

    So I’ll thank him alongside you, as he did do that one thing, he made you realise that you aren’t as bad as you think 😉

  3. Mrs Moo

    Hey junebug, I’m glad you met him too for the insight he gave you and for the brief fun relationship you had. It’s totally hiss loss not to pursue it further. But there are plenty more fish in the see! X

  4. I’ve only just seen this. Your attitude to this says much about what a wonderful person you are. Learning from and taking what good you can from experiences. Very well done for having taken this step!

Leave a Reply

